Conference on Control Technology and Applications Best Student-Paper Award

To recognize excellence in a CCTA paper whose primary contributor(s) is a (are) Student Member(s) of the IEEE.

Award Information
Certificate laminated on a plaque and travel expenses to the CCTA for one recipient of the Best Student-Paper Award (round trip restricted minimal) coach air fare, conference registration, and 4 conference-rate hotel-nights for a 3-day conference, and 5 conference-rate hotel-nights for a 4-day conference). The remaining finalists of the Outstanding Student-Paper awards receive certificates and free student conference registrations.
Funded by the IEEE Control Systems Society.
At the CCTA banquet or special event.
Primary contributor(s) of a paper, who was a (were) Student Member(s) of the IEEE at the CCTA deadline for initial paper submission. The Student(s) is (are) required to present the paper at the CCTA.
Basis for Judgement: 
Originality, clarity, and potential impact on practical applications of control.
Award Nomination

Nominations must be made by the student's major professor (advisor) through PaperPlaza by the CCTA deadline for final paper submission. The nomination must include a paragraph

  1. certifying that the nominee is the main author of the paper,
  2. certifying that the nominee was a student at the CCTA deadline for initial paper submission,
  3. certifying that the nominee has an IEEE membership for the current year,
  4. containing a brief description of the contribution of the paper,
  5. explaining the main reason for nomination for the award, and
  6. providing the advisor's contact information as well as the student IEEE membership number, should be included. Nominations are limited to one per advisor.

The Chair of the CCTA Best Student-Paper Award committee (hereafter, the Chair) is appointed by the CSS BOG, based on recommendations from the CSS President-Elect and the CSS ExCom.

The finalists are announced on the Conference web site. The winner is announced by the CSS President at the CCTA banquet where each finalist receives a certificate and the winner receives a plaque.  For further details and the relevant deadlines, please see the relevant conference website,

Award Recipients

Headshot Photo
“Unknown Time-Varying Input Delay Compensation for Neuromuscular Electrical Stimulation” by Serhat Obuz (Advisor: Professor Warren Dixon)
“Distributed Coordination of Household Electricity Consumption”
"Distributed Low-Complexity Controller for Wind Power Plant in Derated Operation" by Benjamin Biegel, Daria Madjidian, Vedrana Spudic, Anders Rantzer, and Jakob Stoustrup
“Adaptive Estimation of Downhole Pressure for Managed Pressure Drilling Operations,” by Øyvind Nistad Stamnes, Glenn-Ole Kaasa, Ole Morten Aamo; Advisor: Ole Morten Aamo
Headshot Photo
"Further Results on Randomized Quantized Averaging: A Surplus-Based Approach", by Kai Cai, Hideaki Ishii
“A BTOF Observer Backstepping-based Output Feedback Law for Nonlinear Systems” by Karla Kvaternik, Alan F. Lynch
"Performing Coverage on Nonconvex Domains", by Carlos H. Caicedo-Nunez and Milos Zefran
“A derivative estimation toolbox based on algebraic methods – theory and practice” by Josef Zehetner et al.